Daily Commerce
Thursday, February 29, 2024
GUEST COLUMNS

Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Mediation could have offered a better alternative to litigation, as it could have allowed the parties to create more balanced and flexible solutions that would protect the needs of the children, parents, and insurance companies.

Tuesday, February 27, 2024

The legal profession has been trying to increase its diversity and inclusion, but still faces issues such as microaggressions, gaslighting, and lawsuits that challenge affirmative action.
Disney has publicly stated that it would rather have a National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) election than voluntarily recognize the union, which is what the union is seeking once it has majority support.
All youth, regardless of whether they are homeschooled or not, should be taught and assessed on a standardized basis to ensure they learn factual and historical information.

Monday, February 26, 2024

Friday, February 23, 2024

Thursday, February 22, 2024

Rule 8.3 involves many judgment calls, such as what constitutes a substantial question, credible evidence, material prejudice, and a reportable violation. The rule also requires the lawyer to consider whether to seek the client's consent to disclosure, and whether to report to the State Bar or a tribunal.
Legal practitioners who oversee cases involving children with disabilities must be aware of the state and federal laws and regulations that protect their educational rights.

Friday, February 16, 2024

Thursday, February 15, 2024

Wednesday, February 14, 2024

Estate disputes can be emotionally and legally complex. A mediator can help parties find a satisfactory resolution by listening to their stories and perspectives.

Monday, February 12, 2024

Friday, February 9, 2024

The IRS is offering conditional partial amnesty for improperly-claimed employee retention tax credits. Companies should consider it.

Thursday, February 8, 2024

The difference between legitimate tax avoidance and tax evasion is critical. The arguable "loan debt" may have been concocted by Donald Trump as a fictional way of avoiding income taxes.
It would be premature to label AI a danger to the legal profession or useless altogether. While we should not blindly cite imaginary case law suggested by ChatGPT, new AI programs exist to make document review far more efficient.

Wednesday, February 7, 2024

Tuesday, February 6, 2024

To operate lawfully, Napa Valley wineries must comply with State and Federal laws, as well as the County's general-plan, zoning-ordinance and permitting-process regulations. And those local regulations have evolved significantly over the years.
When it comes to the words in the 'George Carlin: I'm Glad I'm Dead' special, there could be a potential violation of the derivative work right that is exclusive to copyright owners regardless of whether AI output them or they were human-written.

Friday, February 2, 2024

Thursday, February 1, 2024

Wednesday, January 31, 2024

Tuesday, January 30, 2024

Daily Commerce
915 E First Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: (213) 229-5300
Fax: (213) 229-5481
David Houston
Editor
David_Houston@dailyjournal.com
Diana Bosetti
Contributed Columns Editor
Diana_Bosetti@dailyjournal.com
Lisa Churchill
Managing Editor
Lisa_Churchill@dailyjournal.com